Combining Citrusy and Piney Hops?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ouroboros

Reaction score
I have been toying with the idea of brewing another IPA at some point, but with a bit more sweetness and maltiness to round it out and a deep red color.

I've looked at recipes here, and some of them feature a single hop while others mix and match. I've also looked at descriptions of hops themselves and come away seeing several general descriptions of hops (earthy, spicy, piney, citrusy). If you mix these "classes" of hops, do the flavors tend to clash with one another, or complement? I want to mix the citrus and the pine... it sounds good at the moment. Seeing how I have very little experience with brewing, I'm not sure if this is wise.

I was thinking equal proportions of citra, centennial, simcoe, and chinook. Any ideas?

I like a mix like simcoe and amarillo or chinook and cascade. Those work well together.

If you mix too many, you can get a "muddy" flavor instead of distinct citrusy/piney, in my opinion.

Hi Ouro,
I agree with Yooper. You don't want to have too many unrelated aromas struggling with each other. Think of your aroma hops as belonging to two groups -- the stars of the show and the supporting actors. Don't give too many unrelated hops the supporting role. The good thing is, those hops you listed are all American hops, and their flavors are somewhat related. Citra and Centennial are both citrusy and resiny, and Chinook and Simcoe and primarily Piney. They may all go well together, but if you are concerned, pick one of those two flavors (citrus or pine) and move most of those hops to an earlier addition. For example, if I were going to add .75 oz of all four hops, but I wanted my beer to have a primarily piney aroma, with a citric support,