Mash tun manifold.. My build.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Optimal

Reaction score
So I got around to building a manifold today, turned out decent and the wife was like "did you make this". She's useless when it comes to DIY... Just don't tell her I said that! Anyways, this is the second one I built. The first had the tubes running horizontal and just didn't look right. So I looked around on HBT and found a solution!

It's not complete, the cutting discs I have for my Dremal are ancient and very brittle. The last thing I want is pieces of disc in my face!

Any suggestions on how I could improve it, even if it requires rebuilding. I plan on fly sparging, and think this should work and doesn't promote channeling. But I am no expert! Also only the 3 center vertical pieces will be slotted.

Installed
img00026ud.jpg

Going to put a 1/2"x3/8"x1/2" "T" and run a piece of hose from the barb to the "T".
img00027h.jpg

P.S Thanks to whoever gave me the idea. Sorry I don't remember who it was.

I'd say you just about hit perfection with this one.

I was about to say don't put holes in the tubes against the sides but see you already have that covered.

The only thing I would change would be to widen spacing on the inner three. As it is now, you'll have most if the draining taking place in the center. Any extracted wort on the far left or right will have to travel further than any near the middle. Those inner three should divide it, so to speak, by thirds.

But excellent build and I love the siphon tube. When I rebuild mine I'll definately be looking at yours!

Nice! Is it disassemblable (is that even a word)? If not, how are you going to wash the inside? Just a question, as I'm working on making a new one for my tun.