critque my watermelon saison recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deepsouth

Reaction score
i'm a total noob to brewing and this is only my third beer, but here are my thoughts. i'm getting the base recipe out of "brewing classic styles", but changing it up a bit..... (i should be doing a full boil on this as i'm getting a bayou classic and a 10 gallon pot before brewing it.)

extracts

9 lbs pilsner lme
1 lb cane sugar
1 lb wheat lme
.5 lb munich lme

steeping grains

2 oz caramunich

hops

2 oz hallertau (60 min.)
1 oz warrior (20 min.)
1 oz hallertau (flameout)

yeast

wyeast 3724 belgian saison x 3 (or appropriate starter)
california ale or dry champagne yeast (in secondary)

secondary

3 -4 cups of watermellon juice (strained)

how does this sound?

how much water should i start out with doing a full boil?

should i use liquid or dry malt extract? would the number of pounds be equal regarless of which?

how many days would you recommend in primary? secondary?

which yeast should i use in secondary? i'm leaning toward the champagne yeast.

any thoughts or criticisms are welcomed and appreciated.

thanks in advance.

peace
jason

The thing that is really going to make this tricky, IMO, is the fact that a Saison is meant to be extremely dry (single digits if possible 1.00x)... but, you are adding sugars, in the form of watermelon juice, back after fermentation is complete.

One way you might attempt it is to ferment in primary as usual (~85F after the first couple of days) then you can:
1. move into secondary and add your watermelon juice and a neutral ale yeast
2. Add the juice to primary when the yeast is trying to slow down, a repitch still may be necessary.