Did I mess up

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smurphy74133

Reaction score
Ok so im totally new to this and im pretty sure i just noobed it up after reading but anyways, i let my porter ferment at about 72 degrees for 7 days then i already bottled them and was going to keep them out of sight and mind for about 3 to 4 weeks. should i have put it in a secondary fermenter for another week before bottling? my guess is yes i should have.

No. You're fine. Pretty widely accepted you use a secondary with Belgians dry hopping and high gravity beers. Hope it turns out well. Was your FG OK?

No. You're fine. Pretty widely accepted you use a secondary with Belgians dry hopping and high gravity beers. Hope it turns out well. Was your FG OK?

Im not sure what the final gravity was because when I brewed my first beer, i didnt realize i needed to take all those readings before and after. So im not sure :(

also, is it normal for the white film (guessing yeast) to form at the bottom of the bottles? i noticed that the next day to see if any of my bottles blew up :)

thanks again guys, you guys are a great help to us noobs :rockin:

Secondary is optional, but 7 days to the bottle is really fast - if it is done meaning it has a stable final gravity you'll be ok. That said, if it wasn't finished you could end up with bottle bombs. Did it seem to ferment quickly? 72F is a touch warm, so most likely it finished but if you let it sit 2-3 weeks the yeast will clean up the beer a bit (yeast will in bottles too, it just takes longer).

smurphy74133 said:
also, is it normal for the white film (guessing yeast) to form at the bottom of the bottles? i noticed that the next day to see if any of my bottles blew up :)

thanks again guys, you guys are a great help to us noobs :rockin: