Crushing Grains

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CamelToeBrewing

Reaction score
I went to our towns local Homebrew meeting and they have 2 Row for very cheap which was very exciting news. After I got home I got to thinking well if I buy this in bulk instead of at the LHBS how am I going to crush the grains? I looked online and read about the blender method or running them over with your car!?? Not really what I want to do either way. I was looking at the Grain Mills to figure out how they work to devise an alternative method. From what I can see is two rollers are adjustable and you roll the grains through. This is VERY similar to my pasta press, granted my pasta press is a big smaller. I am new to the all grain and have not been brewing too long in general so I am looking for some general feedback on if this would produce similar results?

If you do it in the blender, you have to do it like 1/2 lb at a time, so it can take a while. You can also just roll them with a rolling pin, though people seem to have better results with rolling pins made of stone instead of those made of wood. Again, this takes a long time.

People have also had pretty good results with Corona Mills, though AGAIN, it takes a long time. Corona Mills cost about $20-40.

The BEST way to do this is to save up $120.00 and get a real grain mill, like a Barley Crusher. You can hook up an electric drill and get a good crush on 10lbs of grain in about 5 minutes. This is kinda part of the package deal if you want to buy grains in bulk, IMO.