Counter Pressure Filler

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DougyFresh04

Reaction score
I am thinking of building an automated bottle filler and capper line. Why, because I may be able to, and of cause I am an engineer.
Anyway, I think I may have come up with a plan for the Counter Pressure filler (a rough plan at least).

Background:

I am amazed with small scale things ( I also drive a MINI), so I love doing 1 to 2.5 gallon batches. I know it is the same amount of work for little pay off. I am working on getting some o-I 7oz bottle from a friend on the inside. I figure small batched need small bottles.

Attached is a drawing of the idea I have been working on. I am thinking that I can mount it on an air cylinder with 6" of stroke. There will be a gasket to seal off on the bottle and the pressure relief vale is designed to blow at 7.5psi. I am thinking that this will allow me to fill the bottles with 5psi gas and the beer will add to the pressure allowing the valve to open. I will add solenoid vales to the beer and gas line for full automation.

Please give some insight to my crazy idea. As it is still on the drawing board and I know changes will have to be made. Also if I was unclear on anything please ask.

Thanks,
D

View attachment COUNTER PRESSURE FILLER.pdf

I am thinking of building an automated bottle filler and capper line.
Please give some insight to my crazy idea.

Thanks,
D

Not a crazy idea, do-it and pics please :mug:
I built my first one in 1995 and started out as a rotary filler with capper.
The rotary filler was a pain to upgrade and I changed to an in-line filler.
The in-feed, out-feed conveyors and capper no longer exist.
The second filler was a 5 liter keg filler, both are no longer in use, just museums pieces for demos.

BELT1Sm.jpg