Types of beer (question)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewno

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to homebrewing, actually I haven't even brewed anything yet. I'm still researching. I have years of experience drinking beer though! Anyway I have kind of a dumb question. In my years of beer tasting I have come across a few that liked but never paid much mind to what the differences were. Of course I've consumed the piss water we all grew up with, but years ago while out watching a local band, right around my tenth brew I gave up. I couldn't drink another sip of that crap. For some reason I thought I'd try an ale and settled on bass. I liked it and then got hold of some Boddingtons Pub ale which I liked even better. I eventually became a Guinness drinker. I've tried Sam Adams and sometimes I like it and sometimes I don't. Maybe I'm not a lager guy?

Anyway the point here is that I have no clue what the difference is. I mean I know they taste different but when asked my preference I usually say Ale's or dark Ale's or dark beer. Usually because that's what I drink and I would have to say I like them but what is the difference. I mean technically. What makes them different and why are they different. Why is one Ale pale and another dark? Why is a Lager a Lager? What's Pilsner? Which beers are the stronger ones, taste wise and body wise?

Basically I'm looking for definitions of the different beers. Even a point in the right direction.

Thanks

Tommy

also, what separates a lager from an ale is the fermentation temperatures and the yeast used.

Lager's are fermented at lower temperatures with yeast that will settle to the bottom of the fermentor and do their work from that location.