Soaking frozen fruit in star san

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimmywit

Reaction score
I am about to make a strawberry addition and transfer to my secondary....would soaking the frozen cut up strawberries in star san hurt?

What is your thinking here? Are you trying to sanitize strawberries? If so, cook them. Or maybe canned berries. Strawberries grow mold after just a couple days, and they turn into slimey snot when soaked.

I'm new to brewing, but I'm about to add some strawberries to my blonde in a day or two. I'm going to freeze them first, then mix them with a bit of water, throw it on the stove at about 170F for 15 minutes to pasteurize. I'll add it to secondary after that cools to room temp-ish

I've been freaking out about how to sanitize fruit before adding to a beer, and found from my research (because the Internet is always right!) that this would be the most fool proof in terms of preventing infection..

Frankly, I'm not a fan of the flavor that results from adding pasteurized strawberries. It ends up tasting like tomatoes. I did it a few times and kept trying different techniques until I settled on the method I use now. I clean and halve the fresh strawberries, freeze them, then toss them frozen into the secondary in a paint strainer bag and rack on top of them.

Frankly, I'm not a fan of the flavor that results from adding pasteurized strawberries. It ends up tasting like tomatoes. I did it a few times and kept trying different techniques until I settled on the method I use now. I clean and halve the fresh strawberries, freeze them, then toss them frozen into the secondary in a paint strainer bag and rack on top of them.