AG on a budget

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Green Tarp

Reaction score
Ive been doing partial mash kits for a couple years now and its time to start trying AG brewing but Id like to try it small time at first without making a big upgrade in my gear. I have the standard noob setup.. glass carboy, 7.5 gal bucket with spigot, 7.5 gal bucket no spigot (usually use this for soaking my small items in sanitizer), turkey cooker, big cookpot, autosiphon and all the other small stuff.

My local brew supply showed me a setup where you just put a sort of mesh liner in the bucket with spigot. Anybody ever use or hear of this method?

Yes, I've done that when I was doing PM. The only problem I had was keeping the temperature stable when mashing. I used my bottling bucket and lined it with a big mesh bag that I use for wine. I wrapped it with a sleeping bag, but still lost about 14-15 degrees in an hour. It didn't really matter because I was doing PM, but that wouldn't work for me in AG. If you could figure out a way to keep the heat in (maybe a hot water tank insulation blanket?), it would work.

You can preheat an oven to 150 degrees and stick the mashing vessel in there (make sure to turn the oven off after preheating). I've done this in a five-gallon pot and only lost about a half a degree F after sixty minutes. It helps to let the oven preheat for at least half an hour so that all the metal parts inside have a chance to absorb the heat.