Help needed for 1st AG recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Axegod

Reaction score
I have been doing extract brews off-and-on for several years and have decided to go to AG (hopefully within 2 weeks). I decided to go AG for more control of ingredients and am going to brew a light colour Koelsch (WY2565) since that matches the style and basement temps. I want to use the continous sparge method (and got the cooler with copper manifold). Here is a recipe I made with Promash below. It is a 10 US gallon batch.

7 kg (15.4 lbs) 2-row Harrington
1.5 kg (3.3 lbs) Weyermann Pale Wheat Malt
1 kg (2.2 lbs) of Flakes Maize total: (21 lbs of fermentables)

(1 kg / 2.2 lbs of rice hauls)

I have tried to figure out the dough-in and mash/sparge volumes and temps - but can't quite get it. Any help in terms of when, what temps and volumes would be greatly appreciated. A water:grain ratio of 1.2 seems about right.

Cheers.

Promash tells me that 6.3 gallons of 166 degree water will get you 153 for a single infusion mash. Be sure to rinse your rice hulls before you throw them in, though you don't have that much wheat and really shouldn't need them.

Two observations: Why start with 10gal for your first one? You're going to be learning so many new things about grain beds and other stuff, it'll be easier to handle 5 gallons for the first one. Unless you've done some partial mash or someone is helping you or something, just a thougt.