New - basics questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

59f100292

Reaction score
I am a farmer and have access to many left over fruit crops this time of year. I was given a flat of number 2 strawberries the same week i was given some old wine making supplies. Next thing I know Ive got 13 gallons of wine in the basement. Only problem is I know so little about making wine I don't even know what I don't know. As I go making more - im learning what I screwed up on the previous batches. So now Im trying to fix my past mistakes if possible.

My first problem is a reoccuring problem of volume.
The first batch I made - about 1.5 gallons of strawberries - because thats how many strawberries I was given. I didn't realize then that come time to put it in One Gallon carboys - I would have one carboy with way too much head space.

Before I learned about headspace - I made 4 gallons of Blue berry - because thats how many blue berries I got my hands on. In a 5 gallon carboy I again ran into the headspace problem - so I bought 4 -one gallon carboys. Even then I ended up with 3.5 gallons and one carboy half full. At this point I combine the half gal blue berry and half strawberry and just said "we'll see what happens"

Long story short 2 gallons of raspberry in a 2 gallon primary turned into 1.5 in the secondary (take out displacement of fruit in mesh bag). And again have a partially full carboy.

So what do I do? Pour out the partial carboys. Just mix up partials? As I re-rack, what do I top off with? watering it down seems like a bad idea. I tried juicing more strawberries to top that off at one point...

6 gallon primary - 6 gallons of peach wine turned into One 5-gal carboy and half a One gal Carboy.....

Fill me in here - what do I not know?