Table mead??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jezter6

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Anyone make a mead that is not super high abv and just regular beer strength? Would topping off with more water to make a lighter more "poundable" mead work?

I'm going to have like 4 batches or normal strength stuff going, but I was wondering if a lighter/easier to drink lots of mead can be made.

Ideas?

Anyone make a mead that is not super high abv and just regular beer strength? Would topping off with more water to make a lighter more "poundable" mead work?

I'm going to have like 4 batches or normal strength stuff going, but I was wondering if a lighter/easier to drink lots of mead can be made.

Ideas?

I'm a bit of a noob myself, but I was considering this as well. I was thinking of making a batch a little lighter on the honey, say enough for a OG of 1.040, and letting this go to full dryness, then stabilizing and backsweetening a bit.

I'm not sure what this would do to final flavors, though.

Tracy's Quick Mead

An ale-strength honey beverage rather than a honey wine, which most meads will be. But really, all you need to do is start with a 1.040-1.050 OG. Ran across a 48-hour recipe, but can't find it right now.

I made one with some spiced herb tea. I came out pretty good and was ready to drink about 6 months earlier than I would consider drinking any of my other mead. One thing I wish I would have done is add some acid blend to it. I don't usually use acid in my mead so I didn't think about it but because it's so mild, it could use a bit more "bite". If I had used regular tea it might have that bite from the tannins but I used herbal. Oh well.

Hi Jezter,