Propane Burners

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

upperNY01brewer

Reaction score
When looking for a propane burner what would be the recommended BTU's put out by the burner. Ive come across a number of deep fry turkey setups in various stores and have shyed away from getting one only because I dont want to get one and only find out that it doesn't boil water any quicker than using my stove top

I think I read somewhere that you want at least 30k BTU to do 5 gallon batches. My burner is a bit over 50k, and I have no problem at all boiling 6.7 gallons of wort.

I am just starting out and from reading all over the web it looks like the Bayou SQ14 will do a great job for the price.

Just bought my SQ14 yesterday, delivering Fri! I almost bought one of those turkey fryer set-ups, but some wise one on this board enlightened me to the pesky auto-shut offs (after 20 mins or so) on those things that are nearly impossible to override. Very annoying if so. Just be aware.

I am just starting out and from reading all over the web it looks like the Bayou SQ14 will do a great job for the price.

You can buy this from Amazon for $52 with free shipping. It does a great job on my boils from 4 gallons to 8 gallons w/o using too much propane. If you already have the size of brewpot you like buying a new turkey fryer may cost more due to the pot included in the kit.

I bought the SQ14 when I went AG. No problems whatever; it seems very well matched with my 30 qt. brewpot (which I insulated, back when I was doing extract batches on the kitchen cooktop).

Forget the BTU ratings, they're garbage. I had a 210k-BTU "kick-a-banjo" burner and a 55k-BTU SQ14, and guess which one heats wort up faster?