my most challenging obstacle

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewski08

Reaction score
convincing my buddies that just because i brew doesn't mean they're entitled to an endless supply of free beer. i almost think it would come as a surprise to most of them that beer supplies indeed do cost money.

i live in my fraternity house where natty light (frat water) is part of a healthy diet. as you can imagine, my fraternity brothers can hear me filling up my keg from a mile away and line up at my door almost instantly: "hey bro, can i just get a sample?".

while i do enjoy the fact that my friends enjoy my beer, i'm also a broke college student. the law obviously prevents me from selling beer, but i would like to somehow get the guys who drink my beer to chip in for the next batch.

anyone else struggling with this never-ending uphill battle? any effective methods that you implore?

any advice would be appreciated!

You're right it's an uphill battle. I've found that the best way to deal with beer mongers is to invite them over to brew a batch (they buy the ingredients of course and maybe a fermenter if you don't have an extra one lying around). Tell them they can have all the beer they want, they just have to brew it.

I understand where your coming from with friends thinking you the guy that gives free beer out. Sometime i wish my buddys came over more so i went thought more beer so i can brew more lol.

But when my friends do come over someone is always bring something over for the night food, snack, what ever it is. So I am paying for the beer but they are paying for the other stuff so it works out.