Full boil

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KELLEHERC

Reaction score
For my next batch I want to try a FULL BOIL as well as a starter.

I have read endless threads about FULL BOILS but it seemed like a lot of differing opinions so I figured I would post my own thread.

- amount of water?
6 gals? I have a 30 gal pot and a propane burner and since I have never done this before I need a best guess.

- adjustments to recipe?
I have not decided on a brew yet so Iam open to suggestions but it will likely be an extract kit.
Are there adjustments that I need to make?
I saw many opinions on hop changes as well as timing of additions (extract?)

- any other suggestions?

Thanks

You have a 30gallon pot and aren't doing full boils yet? I assume you mean 30-quart?

I use a 30-quart turkey fryer setup, and typically collect 6.5 gallons to boil down to 5.5 or 5 depending on the recipe.

You'll also have to be Johnny on the Spot to make sure you don't boil over with those volumes. It helps to have a fan gently blowing at the top of the kettle, but that also increases the time it takes to bring the wort to a boil and increases your boil-off volume (there is no free lunch).

Happy brewing :rockin:

The 30 qt and burner are borrowed.
I read about getting better brews with a full boil.
If I do i will invest in one.

My advice? Buy a bigger pot. Just do it. The only consideration is IF YOU LIKE BREWING!