? on yeast starter for extract brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stoutfan72

Reaction score
I have just ordered two extract kits from N.B, a winter warmer and nut brown ale. Both with dry yeast packets. I am on my 10th extract brew and plan on doing my 1st yeast starter,but I read that someone does not recc. doing one with dry yeast, Why? I too have been pretty consistently FGing at 1020 although beer has tasted good and everybody enjoys it, am I doing something wrong, if so what can i do better! Also after fermentation I transfer into corny keg and then add CO2 psi and let sit for period of time to condition, should i be psi keg or not? Thanks for any advise as I am new to joining this forum.

Sounds like you're doing things right. A final gravity of 1.020 can be high depending on what you're brewing, but since you're using extract, it's somewhat expected. Extract doesn't finish as low as AG.

As for a starter...it's not needed with dry yeast. You do however, need to rehydrate it.

am on my 10th extract brew and plan on doing my 1st yeast starter,but I read that someone does not recc. doing one with dry yeast, Why?

Suthrncomfrt1884 is right. You don't need one. The reason is because there is a ton of cells in the dry vs. the liquid. Plus, the liquid is alive and the dry is dormant.

I too have been pretty consistently FGing at 1020 although beer has tasted good and everybody enjoys it, am I doing something wrong, if so what can i do better!

Suthrncomfrt1884 is right again. There are a number of reasons as to why you are FGing around 1.020. Have you calibrated your hydrometer?