Need a home depot shopping list for my new keg system

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

staffVAJoe

Reaction score
I feel like a total NEWBEE and I am soooo lost

I acquired 5 used corny kegs. I know I need to buy new gaskets and a tap handle / hose for dispensing BUT...

NO WAY IN HELL I AM PAYING 100+ ON A REGULATOR SET-UP!!!!

what do I actually need to build and what is this nitrogen vs CO2 bs?????

I have a team of steam fitters, pipe fitters (insert favorite joke here), and plumbers that will help me with braising:D

Thanks guys

Are you suggesting you want to fabricate your own regulator? Not sure it's not more trouble than it is worth. The regulator is what keeps all the CO2 from flooding out all at once and launching your beer into the sky at 500psi.

You should be able to get a regulator setup for under $100 if you shop around a bit. Some good vendors on this forum.

The CO2 vs nitrogen thing is primarily a concern for stout beer. Stout takes a bit more pressure to move through the hose, so would end up overcarbonated and foamy from CO2. Nitrogen permeates much less into a beer, so is often used as a mix with CO2, in conjunction with a special tap system, to get stout moving through the lines, but come out smooth and creamy.

Take your time and set-up the system slowly as you go along. Buy the right things the first time and you won't have to shop again. I put my system on basic pic-nic taps (just 2 to start off) until I could scrape up the cash for some nice perlick faucets and a regulator line expansion kit.

I saw regulator type things at home depot and I think that the Medical Gas at work (we are building a 1 million square foot hospital) could fab up the tubing.