sweet wheat beer and foaming bottles

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

happymunky

Reaction score
Hello, im new here and to brewing and i had a couple question maybe someone could answer. i just started brewing about 3 months ago( im still pretty bad at it LOL) and mostly i get a little too excited and impatient and i know that i cant be with home brewing. my first question is; i brewed some wheat beer and waited a week and then bottled it, i know that i should of waited longer to bottle it (like i said im trying to be more patient) and then waited another week and then tried a few of them. they were quite sweet tasting and not very good so i wanted to know if with wheat beer it tastes sweet normally cause it is not ready or if i did something wrong in the process(besides being impatient) question #2; with that same batch of beer i had tried 3 of them and when i opened the first 2, everything went fine and then when i opened the 3rd it starting foaming like crazy and wouldn't stop so i was wondering if you could tell me the cause of it? thanks alot =)
Happymunky

Sounds like you bottled before fermentation was complete. Now the yeast in the bottles are eating the sugars in a pressurized enviroment, giving you too much carbonation.

Can you give us the original recipe? Which yeast?

#1 - Sounds like they weren't done fermenting. You need to take hydrometer readings to ensure that your primary fermentation is complete.
#2 - See: #1. Since the beer wasn't finished fermenting you have a lot of CO2 building up in those bottles. Also, if you didn't boil the priming sugar you can get very spotty/inconsistent carbonation.

Tell us the full process. Did you take any hydro readings? Did you rack the wort on top of powdered priming sugar to bottle?