Recipe design for an American Wild Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KyleWolf

Reaction score
taking the plunge into sours. Got my hands on a mason jar of trub/yeast wash of EBY020- bug county. After thinking it through, I thought I might do an American Wild Ale, since we are all fancy now and have it as an official BJCP style. I have never brewed a sour before (*read "purposeful sour" haha), but I am a relatively veteran brewer, so I have a decent idea of what I need to do. That being said, I still would love some advice for this beer. Currently I am looking at:

09lb 08oz 2-Row
00lb 08oz Honey Malt
00lb 08oz Crystal 120
00lb 08oz Flaked Rye

0.125 oz Columbus 60min- 7-IBU

Pitching ECY bug county.

Mash Temp- 160F
Final Vol. 5.5gal
Predicted OG: 1.055
Predicted FG: 1.003
Predicted ABV: ~6%
Predicted SRM: 10

After 4-6mo, take an oak spiral, soak it in cabernet sauvignon (vacuum sealed) for 1mo. Add spiral to the beer for 2mo. Let age to ~8-10mo (so an additional 2mo after removing oak spiral). Bottle condition. The idea is not only would the spiral impart a caberent character, but the wine itself will significantly mellow the oak character of the spiral, giving it a much more mild barrel character.

So with that in mind, I would love to hear some thoughts and commentary. Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
I would up the flaked rye and/or add in some flaked wheat. Last sour saison I did got down to 0.0996! Cept I mashed at 150...

but my point is, it has a great mouthfeel since I used 3lbs each of flaked and regular wheat. Its best to have something that will help support the super dry body. I think brett and other bugs are capable of fermenting the long chain sugars you get from mashing high, but I could be wrong