What to do with figs

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jmkunis

Reaction score
I have a large fig tree in my yard that produces WAY more figs than I have any real use for. I've never tried making wine before (although I brew beer fairly often) and I am thinking this may be a reasonable use for all those extra figs. Anyone know any good recipes/tips for a first timer?

I threw this fig mead together and it came out quite well, you could easily substitute sugar for the honey.

Here is my recipe PER GALLON:

3.5# fresh frozen figs--thawed
2.5# honey
water to 1 gallon
1/2 tsp yeast nutrient
Yeast energizer, if needed
1/2 tsp pectic enzyme
1 campden tablet, initially and then as needed
1 vanilla bean, split
1 Darjeeling black tea bag
5 pieces of candied ginger
2 slices dried lemon 1 slice dried orange
5 grams Epernay II Wine Yeast or D47
Adjust using tartaric acid after ferment is complete, if needed

OG goal 1.085-1.090
Goal Total Acid: .45-6%