How to keep a fermenter cool in the summer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

I-Hop

Reaction score
Alright, I am still somewhat of a newbie here. How do you all keep your fermenters within the temperature limits during the summer? It has been somewhat cool here this past week and I have my Ale Pail in a room with both windows open and a fan blowing on it. It is just at the top of the temperature limit. If it gets any warmer, I'm not sure what else to do.

Well... call me a lucky F*cka but it always stays well withing nice brewing temps range in my basement during hot summer weather, so i just put all my beer in process down there and everything goes fine.

Keep the fan going, only put the fermenter in a tub (such as a plastic storage bin or a keg tub) with maybe 6 or 8 inches of water. Put an old t-shirt over the fermenter with the bottom of it in the water so that the water will wick up into the t-shirt. Toss a couple plastic liter bottles of ice in there, and switch them out every day.

The cold water and the evaporation of the water in the t-shirt will cool the fermenter by several degrees.

Put a stick-on strip thermometer on the out side of the tub just below the water line, and it'll read pretty close to the beer temperature.

I generally keep them in a tub of water and will exchange out frozen bottles based on the temp listed on the fermometer... you could try searching for "swamp cooler"; that is basically what I use.

I ferment in my bedroom (I'm single) and just bought a one room air conditioner. Leave it on when I go to work, at night its cool enough with out the AC.

I used to ferment in the basement, but where I live now there is no basement.

David