Wort Chilling Ideas?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rthbrew

Reaction score
Hey I'm relatively new to this and I had some questions about wort chillers.

My first brew I just used an ice bath to cool and found this to be very slow. For my next brews I will be using a wort chiller. I will most likely be making one myself if I can find the copper at a decent price.

In Tennessee where I live our tap water is not very cold so let's talk about pre-chilling. Would it be effective to just run a long hose from the faucet to the chiller and imerse that hose in an ice bath?

Also. Would it work to imerse the wort chiller in ice and water and run the wort through it like a counterflow for half the price?

It seems like if you made gravity work for you then this might work. Am I overlooking something very simple?

Any help on the subject would be much appreciated!!

Thanks all!!

Submerging a long hose in an ice bath probably wouldn't work well since it wouldn't have good heat transfer properties. Plastic tubing or a rubber garden hose is in essence an insulating material. That's why they use copper - good conductivity. Unfortunately copper prices are really high right now. I'm looking at doing an immersion chiller but 3/8" copper is now $45 for 20' at Home Depot.

Running wort thru the copper would work - but I like the idea of having the wort on the outside - it's much easier to clean - just put the immersion chiller in the boil for 10 minutes to sanitize it. Plenty of people use counterflow chillers so there must be a good way to clean them (running cleaner thru them probably). I think the immersion would be easier IMHO.

Right.. garden hose in ice does nothing. To insulating and the water moves too fast.