Removal of Corny Keg Handles

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bopper

Reaction score
Apologies if this has been asked before, however, I used the search function and I was not able to find anything on point...

I am in the process of putting together my kegerator and got the fridge home today. I realized that I would be able to fit 3 corny kegs inside if I could remove the black handle piece of the keg (I need to reduce the keg height by about a half inch). Is there a way to do this? It looks like if I take off the in/out's that it might come off (I'm sure there's some adhesive I'd have to battle with) I thought I'd post here before I began taking it apart as I'm new to kegging. Has anyone done this?

Thanks!

:mug:

EDIT - I'm thinking it would look like this after I took the top off http://www.midwestsupplies.com/products/ProdByID.aspx?ProdID=5781
I could always just buy one of these if I needed to. Is this the same as the regular handled ones but without the big handles?

I have never tried to remove them, but have you considered making a collar to raise up your deep freezer lid? It makes it much safer cutting holes for your taps also?

It's not a deep freezer...it's a Sanyo MB-1206. It wouldn't be reasonable to modify it to give me additional clearance. I'd rather take my chances breaking the keg than the fridge. I'm not set on 3 kegs but it sure would be nice!

before you do this make sure your you account for the height of the gas/liquid post as they rise up higher than the handles on my kegs.

before you do this make sure your you account for the height of the gas/liquid post as they rise up higher than the handles on my kegs.