another christmas kit question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My wife (she is awesome BTW) got me a kit for christmas. I has
1.Bucket with a hole in the lid and a hole in the bottom
2.spigot
3.racking cane
4.vent
5.siphon tube
6.Bottle capper and caps
7.sugar
8.extract for a Bock
9. 48 new bottles
she also got a huge pot i forgot what size. I am new to brewing obviously so .
I think i still need a hydrometer, thermometer yeast and hops. Am I right? Also is there any way I can ferment in this bucket and bottle out of it? Or do I just need to use it as a bottling bucket and get another. Like I said my wife is awesome:rockin: for kick starting me into this hobby that I have been wanting to do for so long she is the best but I think there is still some things I need to get started right. Oh yeah she got me the home brewers bible to.
thanks in advance

You're off to a good start. Yes, get a hydrometer & a thermometer.

The Bock extract kit might be pre-hopped ( it would say so on the label somewhere) and the yeast is probably under the lid of the extract can.

There are many different methods for fermenting & bottling. Pretty much any of them will make beer. The one that works best for you may not work for someone else. Rather than tell you which one you should do - I'll just say read www.howtobrew.com and decide for yourself which one you want to do.

Good luck with it.

Personally I would get a primary without a hole in the side (use the one you have for bottling). There is not a good way to ferment and bottle out of the same bucket. It can be done but will make an inferior final product.

Your wife does indeed rock!

Congratulations, welcome to the hobby!