Recipe suggestion for complete Noob?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

9/9

Collembola!
Reaction score
Hello all,

My wife and I are about to try homebrewing for the very first time. We have all of the general supplies we need, but don't know what recipe to try for our first. Any suggestions for a nice, simple starting point? We understand that our first batch won't be great, so we just want something simple that we aren't too likely to screw up and give us something that is actually drinkable. Basically, we are looking for something that will help us understand the process before we more to more complicated (and, hopefully, better).

Thanks in advance.

I gotta tell you. I deeply believe that anyone who cares to brew beer can go ahead and start with unhopped extract, some specialty grains, and some hops. You'll hear folks go on and on about unhopped extracts and no-boil kits, but that makes so-so beer and doesn't teach you much about this "process" that interests you.

You can get a kit, if you like, and that will save you some trouble in coming up with a recipe, and there are some very good ones out there. If you like American Pale Ales, you can do something as simple as:

6# light liquid malt extract
1# 40L Crystal
1 oz Centennial or Amarillo hops, boiled for 60 minutes
1 oz Centennial, Cascades, or Amarillo hops, boiled for 15 minutes
Irish moss
SafeAle S-04 yeast

Have everything sanitizes and ready to roll before you begin. Your life will be much easier.