Should I be nervous yet?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phuff7129

Reaction score
I have an IPA that went into primary 48 hours ago. OG was 1.062. I have zero activity in the airlock. Not even tiny bubbles. Its in a bucket and even if I push down on the lid the airlock doesn't move. I have not opened the fermenter to see if I have krausen.

I pitched a 1 liter starter using Wyeast Ringwood smack pack. The starter was 36 hours old when I pitched it and the entire starter process went perfectly.

The boil went perfectly. This is my 15th brew so I am not a complete noob.

The starter was 68 degrees and the wort was 68 when I pitched so everthing seems to be right on the money. The temperature of the wort for the last 48 hours has been between 68 and 70 degrees.

My question is should I be concerned yet and if not when should I be concerned? If this fermentation does not start on its own, what would you do to get it started? Thanks in advance for your help.

did you take a gravity reading? if the bucket has any kinda leak, the airlock will not bubble. you may have a beer at high krausen and not see a single bubble. best bet is to open up the bucket and look. if there's a krausen, or signs that there WAS a krausen, you're good. if not, take a gravity reading and if it's the same as the OG, wait another day or so to see if something happens.
FWIW, an airlock is a vent. it will or won't bubble at random. don't use a bubbling airlock, or lack thereof as a gauge of fermentation. only gravity readings can tell you if the yeast are doing their job.

The airlock not bubbling even when you push down on the lid seems to me like you have a leaky lid. Don't worry about the airlock.

^^^Beat me to it.