Over fermented Cider?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewgal

Reaction score
Ok, I'm new at making cider but have successfully made several batches of beer that all turned out fairly well. I found a great cider recipe and proceeded to make following the directions. I used 'organic' apple cider, no preservatives. I let it sit for 24 hours (with a fermentation lock) and then pitched the yeast as the directions said to. There was very vigorous activity within the first day so much so that I had to use a blowout tube. The activity continued for almost 10 days and was fairly exhausted by the time I bottled. The alcohol content was around 7% at time of bottling.

So now all of that's said my question is this:
Is it possible to over ferment cider so that it results in a very tart, dry cider instead of a sweet cider? The recipe had a lot of sugar in it so I assumed it would be sweet. When I tasted my cider it almost tasted like a dry, white wine...something that would go well in fondue, but I really wanted to make a sweet hard cider. Is this a matter of bacterial contamination or simply too much fermentation? Are their any recipes that anyone knows of to make a hard sweet cider?

I'm kinda bummed about it because I've had such great luck with beer, but I want to try again and need to know what might have gone wrong. Any insights would be appreciated. Thanks!

:confused:

Just wondering, have you bottled it yet? If not great.