Please review/critique my panel wiring

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

canyonbrewer

Reaction score
calling all DIY-ers!

I am a complete wiring newbie...and I am trying to plan the wiring for my build. I am hoping some of you experienced folk are bored tonite, drinking a homebrew, and looking for a diagram to review.

What you see here is the 1st draft my puny brain has come up with...without testing anything.

One particular area where I am confused is the valve override switch and light. Basically, I have a 3 way switch (on/off/on) that I would like to configure as PidControlled/OFF/ManualOn. It is basically 2 switches in 1 (4 contacts). My goal is to be able to override the PID and open the ASCO valve manually. I would also like the yellow light to come on whenever the asco vavle is open, regardless of manual or automatic mode.

Also, I plan on using GFI, but it isn't pictured.

Thanks for all of your help...all feedback is welcomed.

5493371038_e1623ffa4e_o.jpg

You would have gotten more attention in the "Electric Brewing" forum rather than the "DIY" forum, but your wiring looks fine here.

The selector switch probably only has three connections on it. One input from the PID, one input from directly from the Hot line, and then the common pin which goes out to the valve.

Your light will come on when the valve is opened, regardless of which source (PID or Manual) caused the valve to open.

What is the purpose of this thing? And why is the timer in there?

Looks good,

Your three position switch should do as you want if it has three or four terminals (as mentioned before) one for ground, two terminals for two different paths to ground, and it might have a third path to ground position which you could leave open or ground.