Dry hopping IIPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dancness

Reaction score
Can anyone recommend a good type of hops to use for dry hopping my IIPA?

I am brewing the Brewer's Best IIPA kit, which included 2 oz Columbus bittering, 1 oz Columbus flavoring, and 1 oz Columbus aroma.

Here is a link to the brewing directions:

http://www.brewersbestkits.com/pdf/1045_Imperial_Pale_Ale.pdf

Can anyone recommend what hops and how much I should use for dry hopping this baby?

Thanks in advance.

Cascade, Amarillo & Simcoe

Depends on how hoppy you want it, I would add .75 oz of each, and let it dry hop for 5-7 days.

All 3??? Wow you're quite the adventurous type. I've heard Cascade is really good, I think I'll do 2 oz of them. I'm a noob at this so I don't want to get too crazy with it. Small steps.

Thank you for the advice.

Why not columbus? Do a single hop, just to get familiar w Columbus(unless you already are). Otherwise SIMCOE!!! Hopslam is all simcoe dry hopped and its great! Cascade, Amarillo and Simcoe would surely be great as well. If you did .75oz of each it would be 2.25oz, which should be good. You could even do 1oz of each, for 3oz total. 2-4oz in an IPA(esp IIPA) is pretty typical. Good luck!

I've been wanting to experiment w Columbus myself, haven't really tried them, but I recently scored a lb of Millennium hops that are a cross of Columbus and Nugget, can't wait to give those a whirl!

I used 2 oz Amarillo in my last IIPA and it came out really good. I wanted to use Simcoe but LHBS was out, so I settled for Amarillo instead.

Wow that's a good idea too. Keeping it all Columbus.

Ahhh decisions decisions.

It really is a great way to become familiar with a certain hop, then formulate recipes around what kind of flavor/aroma you're going for.