Just wanted to introduce myself.....

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BIGREDIOWAN

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm new to the whole brewing process, but I've been lurking here for the past month or so. Just received my beginners kit for Christmas and can't wait to start my first batch. All I've done over the past month or so is read, read, and read some more. I plan on starting on extracts and moving on from there after I get the process down. The kit I received is from my LHBS. It contains the following:
1. Bucket fermenter.
2. Bottling bucket.
3. Hydrometer (thank god!)
4. Airlock.
5. Syphon.
6. Temperature gauge to put on outside of fermenter.
7. Basic how to brewers guide with a few recipes.
8. Capper.
9. Bottle Brush.
10. Cleanser.

The things I still need purchase are:
1. Boil Kettle.
2. Propane burner/turkey fryer. (may be getting this for free)
3. Bottles.
4. Sanitizer.
5. Extract Kit.
6. Long handled spoon.
7. Strainer for fermentation bucket.
8. Possible secondary fermenter.

Anyone see anything else that I may need to buy? I also have a very good used refrigerator coming this week that I got for..................FREE! My father-in-laws buddy just wanted a new fridge and nothing is wrong with this one so he said I could have it. Perfect for possible lagering don't ya think? Also, might have the possiblity of getting a chest freezer to start a keezer build fairly early in my home brewing hobby. Looking forward to talking with all of you and joining in on the fun. I know I'll make alot of mistakes, but it sounds like in the end...............I'll still make some beer. :mug:

Welcome to the obsession. Buy a spray bottle from Depot or Lowe's to put your Star-San in. Comes in handy to spray things down on brew day. My 0.02.