Finally a beer that doesn't taste like 'homebrew'

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AlphaWolf-Brewery

Reaction score
I have been brewing for about 2 years. I made 3 extract brews, then 3 partial mash brews before moving to AG. Along the way I have moved from 5G batches to 10G batches. While all have been 'good' beers that I drank, they all tasted like 'homebrew' to me. I couldnt identify what it was but could always tell something was different than commercial brews. Finally this last batch I made and subsequently the first that I kegged it didn't taste like homebrew just really good beer. I finally felt confident enough to let someone else try it, he ended up loving it and left after filling his glass 7 times and took a sixer with him!

I think the kegging has something to do with it. I noticed a similar thing when I started kegging as well. The head retention improved dramatically.

"Tastes like homebrew" for me usually is in the hops. They aren't melded in with the beer as you find in most commercial brews. And even then, I can sometimes just tell it is a homebrew, but that is not always a bad thing. Congrats either way!

IMHO, I think homebrew > commercial for taste....

Sometimes the dry yeast I think gives you the same taste (especially since most use the same damn yeast packets).... with liquid yeast taste changes.... for the better usually I think...