help with Keg

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fortunete11er

Reaction score
Well this is my first time kegging. Need some advice. I was using the set and wait method, I put the regulator on about 10psi and its been siting for about 20-23 days, just tasted the beer and its undercarberated. Had the temp in the keg at about 68 degrees and didn't plan to use for at least 30 days. SO.......

I just up'd the PSI to 20psi since its getting close to 30 days. How long do you think I should leave it there. I dropped the temp to 45 the chart says around 15-16 psi but that doesn't say for how long?

Charts arn't explaining alot of other than some numbers and temps.

Thanks.

Chill the keg to serving temp. CO2 absorbs better at lower temps, that's why 68 degree extended carb was fruitless. Make sure keg is sealed. I usually make sure seal is made w/30 psi, then back off.

I fill my kegs, put them in the kegerator @ 38*, set the co2 @ 12 psi, start drinking it in about 5-7 days... I'm not in a hurry as there are other kegs to drink while it carbs.

[...]I put the regulator on about 10psi and its been siting for about 20-23 days, just tasted the beer and its undercarberated. Had the temp in the keg at about 68 degrees[...]

Ok, our favorite carbonation table doesn't handle this case, 68°F being off the Y-scale.

So, reverting to my favorite carbonation calculator, set the "method" to "kegging", set the volumes to middle-of-the-ale-range 2.5, set the temperature to 68°F, hit the calculate button, et voila: you should have been using 27.6 psi for those three weeks...

Now you have the tools. Go forth and carbonate...

Cheers! ;)

[edit/ps] You can carbonate beer at pretty much any temperature, it's all a matter of using the correct corresponding pressure.