I need a jumping off point. Little help?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hans_shu_east_gluff

Reaction score
Hey guys, I am pretty new to all grain. Mostly working with 1 gal until I get a good technique going. I have been malting my own barley and have a few lbs of finished pale malt. I also just got in the mail some whole leaf hops. Centennial, Nugget, Saaz and Cascade. The Centennial and Cascade was recommended to me as a good versatile hop to start off with.

I'm just curious if anyone could look at the above paragraph and give me a recommendation on something I could start with, a jumping off point. I've been lurking around this forum for a while now and I'm a little overwhelmed with the lingo. The beauty of beer making, to me, is the experimentation. But with all the variables involved I have no idea where to start.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Bought a 50lb bag of organic whole barley. Its hard to find resources about it as it seems its not very popular, a lot of work and inconsistent results. I made my first AG beer in December 2011 and it seems as though I'm addicted. I love doing things from scratch but I'm a little overwhelmed at the moment. Maybe should have bought some malted grains and started there.

Bought a 50lb bag of organic whole barley. Its hard to find resources about it as it seems its not very popular, a lot of work and inconsistent results. I made my first AG beer in December 2011 and it seems as though I'm addicted. I love doing things from scratch but I'm a little overwhelmed at the moment. Maybe should have bought some malted grains and started there.

You still can. The grains you malted yourself will keep for many months if they are dry. You could mix and match them with your own too.