Nutty Brown Ale...work in progress

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

discgolfin

Reaction score
First Nut brown recipe I have worked on..work in progress

11 Gallons
1.05 OG
SRM 17.5
IBU 33

14# 2 row US
3 # Munich
1.5# Crystal 40L
1# Brown Malt
1# flaked Oats(body and retention)
8 oz Crystal 60L
8 oz Chocolate Malt
8 oz Victory Malt

2 oz Perle 60 min
2 oz EKG 15 min
1 oz Hallertauer 5 min

US-05 yeast Mash 153 to 154

I have never brewed with brown malt..usually use victory ..so any thoughts or opinions would be nice..I do want a nice dark red silky malty but some balance with hops to keep the 2# of crystal from making too sweet.

Jay

Thanks..I have been brewing for 5 years now and for some reason have never made a nut brown...wierd..... because I do enjoy a nice brown now and again.

J

Looks nice to me! Color is just off the light side of the scale for American Brown, but IBU is dead on. Those grains are, I think, going to give you a very pleasant beer.

Cheers!

Bob

Toast the oats @ ~300oF for ~30 mins. I do this for my brown ale and oatmeal stout (see my 'Recipe' drop down). It really adds a nuttiness, especually to the brown ale. In fact, I just brewed a ten gal. batch of the brown ale last Saturday.

I really like your grainbill. This looks very tasty, good work man.

@ the brown malt, it is my understanding that it is the same thing as the Coffee Malt that AH sells. I used 5 oz in my last mild, and it is very nice. It'll fit right in with all the others.

Me, I would leave the SRM right where it is, I like my brown on the light side (but they always end up on the dark side anyways!!).