My 1st Sour - 10 Gallon Flander's Red (03/03/12)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

angeleazy

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at brewing a sour. My recipe was inspired by Jamil’s Flander’s Red, although it is quite different. The resting mash temp was 150 F, and my OG was 1.064. Final yield was 11 gallons. I'll rack each into a secondary on the 15th, when my yeast comes in.

Flander's Red

Grains
• 8.5 lbs Vienna Malt
• 7 lbs Munich Malt
• 7 lbs Pilsner Malt
• 1.5 lbs CaraMunich Malt
• 2 lbs Flaked Soft White Wheat
• 1.5 lbs CaraAroma
• 8 oz Carahell Malt
• 6 oz Crystal 40
• 6 oz Special B

Hops
• Goldings, East Kent (75 min)

Yeasts
• Batch 1 – WL060 –American Ale (primary)**
o Wyeast 5526 Brettanomyces Lambicus (secondary)
• Batch 2 – WL060 –American Ale (primary)**
o Wyeast 3767 Roeselare Ale Blend (secondary)

**Both with dregs of Ichtegems Grand Cru Flemish Red

Can't wait to try this one next year!!! :mug:

Flander's Red 3.3.12.jpg

Exciting! I just pitched dregs and uncrushed grain into 5 gallons of a recipe I created but haven't even tried yet so it will be very interesting to see what comes out. *finger crossed* for us both.

EDIT: this is also my first sour

Flanders Reds are so good. I've made 2 of them and loved them both (both just got Roeselare). I also oaked and added zante currants (because I'm a dope; didn't realize at the time this was different than normal currants). Mine ended up super sour.

Good luck!