Pitfalls of scaling down?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jramsey

Reaction score
I have read so many books on AG brewing it is starting to get frightening. But, one topic that I do not come across is scaling down the recipies for (obviously) smaller batches.

Since my storage area for beer is fixed, the only way to have more variety is to brew smaller batches.

SO, THE QUESTION:

Assuming accurate measurement of ingredients, does brewing small batches, say 2 gallon, present any unique problem?

Only problem I have read about is having less of the beer if it turns out to be a really good beer,other than that I don't believe so.

No unique problems, other than what brewerbear just said - having less beer. When I started brewing AG, I had to scale back to 3 gallon batches because of equipment, and did this for a long time.

Also, you can read as far into the science as you want, but AG brewing really isn't that complicated. If you use the correct amounts of water at the correct temperatures, it's actually pretty hard to screw up. I was shocked at how easy it was to make really good beer! :mug:

This is exactly how I learned to do AG. Scaled down recipes are easy to make on the stovetop, it's cheap and easy to experiment, mistakes are only 28 or so bottles. As noted above, the downside is there's less beer if it's a good batch. Solution? Brew more often!

Oh, and everything scales. WAnt to make a 2.5 gallon batch? Take a 5 gal recipe and cut all measurements exactly in half.