Smoked IRA Critique.....will this suck?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blackshirtproud

Reaction score
So this is my first go at Beersmith and I was hopeing some of you more experienced guys could help out? I was hopeing to create something unique yet fairly easy to drink, I like smoked beers I have had so it became a smoked IRA and I added the Grains of paradise in for a peppery bite similar to Sam Adams holiday ale. Im still a Noob only 1 AG in and a handfull of pm.
So......Do you think this will be totaly bad or should I add or take away anything?

smoked IRA
Irish Red Ale

Type: All Grain
Date: 12/27/2008
Batch Size: 5.50 gal
Brewer: zac
Boil Size: 6.62 gal Asst Brewer:
Boil Time: 90 min Equipment: My Equipment
Taste Rating(out of 50): 35.0 Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00
Taste Notes:

Ingredients

Amount Item Type % or IBU
6.00 lb Pale Malt, Maris Otter (3.0 SRM) Grain 64.86 %
1.75 lb Peat Smoked Malt (2.8 SRM) Grain 18.92 %
1.00 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 30L (30.0 SRM) Grain 10.81 %
0.50 lb Roasted Barley (300.0 SRM) Grain 5.41 %
1.25 oz Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] (60 min) Hops 21.8 IBU
2.20 gm Seeds of Paradise (Boil 5.0 min) Misc
1 Pkgs Irish Ale (White Labs #WLP004) Yeast-Ale

Beer Profile

Est Original Gravity: 1.046 SG
Measured Original Gravity: 1.010 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.013 SG Measured Final Gravity: 1.005 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 4.30 % Actual Alcohol by Vol: 0.65 %
Bitterness: 21.8 IBU Calories: 43 cal/pint
Est Color: 17.7 SRM Color: Color

Mash Profile

Mash Name: Single Infusion, Medium Body, Batch Sparge Total Grain Weight: 9.25 lb
Sparge Water: 4.84 gal Grain Temperature: 72.0 F
Sparge Temperature: 168.0 F TunTemperature: 72.0 F
Adjust Temp for Equipment: FALSE Mash PH: 5.4 PH