thinking about kegging...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FreeLordBrewing

Reaction score
I'm still some what of a newbie, at only 7 batches....but cleaning bottles is getting old quickly!! I tried doing a little research on kegs, checking out the sticky's, and my aunt use to be an editor for BYO magazine. After hearing that I started brewing she sent me ALL of the issues (about 200+) she had to edit so I have been reading all the keg related issues but still can't seem to find a CLEAR answer.

The main question I am trying to figure out at this point is do I have to keep the kegs refrigerated?? will beer last in a keg that's sitting (say at basement temp 68-72) as long as CO2 is used to purge the oxygen/force carbonate??? is there a rough time frame as to how long a home brew will last in a corny keg at 68-72?? me and my buds can have it gone in one night ha ha :mug: but say I wanted to go camping and bring my set up will the keg have to sit in a ice chest through out the weekend?? (I would use dark hose to block UV rays/sun at that point).

I see that to artificially carbonate the beer, the beer should be colder for quicker absorption of the CO2, but I know there are the other options of letting it sit longer at warmer temps for forced carbonation, and letting it sit longer using priming sugar for natural carbonation (both lending a hand to conditioning/aging of the beer).

I am not worried about getting the beer to a lower temperature before pouring it into a glass as I will more than likely build a jockey box.

and I haven't made the leap yet of purchasing keg equipment but i like to research as much as possible for doing anything thanks in advance - Shawn