Do stir plates make starters sour?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JonBoy47

Reaction score
I just want you to know this is not a panicked thread where I am debating wether or not to keep my yeast. From what I have read sour smells dont mean the starter is bad.

That being said.....i made a starter yesterday afternoon with WLP001. I have used this yeast many times and have made a starter every time I have used it. The starters usually have a strong yeasty/bready smell (which I kinda like). I just gave my starter a sniff and it smells sour. Best way I can describe it is like sour dough yeast. The only difference from my other starter and this one is on this one I used a stir plate. I have never used a stir plate before so I was wondering if this is normal. The only thing I can think of is that the beer is more oxidized because of the stir plate. Could that cause a sour smell?

They can often taste/smell a little "sour" from the constant aeration. It is different than an actual sour, but is quite similar. I threw out my first starter from a stirplate because of this same issue. Now I know this is quite normal.

I've noticed this somewhat sour smell as well and I also noticed that it varies from none at all to easily detected. It's not the same as full on sour as with an acetobator contamination can be. Early on, I tossed a starter because of this smell, but soon learned that it is not all that unsual. I also think that a starter made at higher temperatures will exhibit more of this phenomenon.

Made one last night; stirred throughout the night and smelled fine when pitched a few hours ago.