When and what to upgrade?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shepherds

Reaction score
Hello,
Im new to brewing and I have recently purchased a home brew kit that includes:

6.5-gallon Plastic Fermenter and Lid
5-gallon Better Bottle
6.5-gallon Bottling Bucket
2 Airlocks
#2 and #10 drilled Rubber Stopper
Autosiphon
Bottle Filler
Five feet of Flexible Tubing
Hydrometer
Hydrometer Test Jar
Floating Thermometer
Two Handle Bottle Capper
144 Bottle Caps
The New Complete Joy of Homebrewing
Sanitizer
Bottle Brush
Carboy and Bottle Washer
Faucet Adapter
Wort Chiller

This seems like a good amount of equipment for a beginner brewer. :rockin:

I am wondering what the suggested future upgrades are for someone who is seeking to go much further in brewing; towards all-grain brewing, having multiple fermentors going at once (obviously additional fermentors are needed), fermenting at lower temperatures, and kegging. I even plan on making labels for when I share them with friends. :mug:

What equipment do you all suggest I should invest in first, what I should wait on, and what equipment will just make the joy of brewing quicker and easier?

thank you for your replies,

Hello,
Im new to brewing and I have recently purchased a home brew kit that includes:

6.5-gallon Plastic Fermenter and Lid
5-gallon Better Bottle
6.5-gallon Bottling Bucket
2 Airlocks
#2 and #10 drilled Rubber Stopper
Autosiphon
Bottle Filler
Five feet of Flexible Tubing
Hydrometer
Hydrometer Test Jar
Floating Thermometer
Two Handle Bottle Capper
144 Bottle Caps
The New Complete Joy of Homebrewing
Sanitizer
Bottle Brush
Carboy and Bottle Washer
Faucet Adapter
Wort Chiller

This seems like a good amount of equipment for a beginner brewer. :rockin: