Pros and Cons Bottling vs Kegging...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pcolson

Reaction score
Ok so im pretty new to this as you probaly all see my posts... :) but i was wondering what is the difference in kegging and bottling besides carbonating faster? like maybe a Pro and Con list?? thanks

Patrick

Wow- that's a big question that really took me a couple of years to answer for myself!

The cons with kegging- expense. That's it.

I no longer clean and separately bottle 53 bottles of beer and store them for three weeks at 70 degrees, and then put them in the fridge and drink them. I don't label bottles (or caps), I don't have empty bottles when I'm done drinking. I don't have hundreds of full bottles all over the place (since I brew often), and If I want to fill a few for friends or competition, I do that with the BMBF (like a poor man's beergun) in about 5 minutes. I have no sediment in my beers (for my non-homebrew drinking friends), and I have draft beer anytime I want it. I can pour three ounces, or twenty- depending on what I'm in the mood for. I think I'll have a pint now!

Seriously, I can think of no cons at all. I brew lots of beer, and I drink lots of beer. That means kegging is perfect for me. I just started kegging at Christmas time, so I'm new to it, and I can't believe that it took me so long!

+100 Just keged my 3rd batch after brewing dozens. I will say that I do keep cases of empties around for when I get the insane idea to do Lambics..