Sanitation concerns when dry hopping?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AaronR77

Reaction score
I am brewing an IPA right now and it is in primary fermentation. In the recipe it calls for dry hopping 1oz. of cascades. I am always pariniod about contaminating my brew, and I have never dry hopped before. I plan on dry hopping in my carboy.

1) Should I be worried about my hand touching the hops or the hops having bacteria on them?

2) Any one have an advice on dry hopping in general?

3) I am new to HomeBrewTalk and any advice would be greatly appreciated, and i am using pellets.

Cheers:mug:

Hops are antibacterial, that's why they were used as a preservative so your hand won't contaminate them, just don't breathe heavily into your fermenter while you are doing it, haha. Other than that some people use bags, I just toss them in loose. Your choice really.

I am brewing an IPA right now and it is in primary fermentation. In the recipe it calls for dry hopping 1oz. of cascades. I am always pariniod about contaminating my brew, and I have never dry hopped before. I plan on dry hopping in my carboy.

1) Should I be worried about my hand touching the hops or the hops having bacteria on them?

3) I am new to HomeBrewTalk and any advice would be greatly appreciated, and i am using pellets.

There's a ton of info about dry hopping here at the HBT forums. The search function works pretty well but questions are ALWAYS welcome. Just be prepared, there's a bunch of sarcastic folks here... :D

1) I always wash my hands when handling my ingredients and the like. Hops are naturally antiseptic so there's virtually no concern for infection, but good process/practices will help you along the way.