Primary Fermentation, Racking, Bottling

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The_Kelly

Reaction score
Ok, so I started fermenting my cider in 2, 1 gallon jugs. Last night I racked them both into a 3 gallon carboy. I let the primary ferment for a week. So now my carboy is Still going. I used an Ale yeats. What I had tasted at that point was quite tasty, a bit yeasty, but quite tasty. How long should I keep the secondary fermentation going?? This is my first time brewing so I don't really want nastiness. I might shed a tear. :D

I don't use a secondary, but many follow the 1-2-3 rule. One week in the primary, two weeks in the secondary, three weeks in the bottle.

I don't understand the 1-2-3 rule ?

If you rack after 1 week, the cider is still fermenting vigorously no ! My technique is let it ferment to desired gravity in primary, rack and let age and clear in second until desired taste and look. then you can bottle it.

Comments ?

I would NOT bottle cider in a couple of weeks! It might not even be done fermenting. The 1-2-3 method works ok for many beers, but not many higher ABV drinks.

I would keep it in a carboy (or two one gallon jugs if you don't have the right sized carboy) under airlock until clear. That might be in just a few weeks, but it might be longer. If you have a hydrometer, you can use it to check and make sure it's done fermenting. Then, the cider can be racked (siphoned) into bottles.

Guess it depends on the cider. I've never had a cider with an ABV higher than 5 or 6.