Water amount?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xrumer

Reaction score
If a recipe is for 5 gallons. Is their a particular reason why the instructions may only say to boil example 2-3 gal vs the whole 5?

Is that because most people wouldn't be able to cook 5 gallons on a stove top?

I ask because i saw a comment saying if you can boil more do so.

Thanks

-Noob

yup thats why. new brewers using extract are usually on the stove with small pots. Boiling a larger volume vs smaller will change your IBU's, other than that, not too much of a difference in final product...

Awesome thanks! I figured. I have a propane burner for outdoors that will solve that. LOL

Thanks Again!

I'm very new to all this but this is what I do. I use 2.5-3 gallons of water due to it comes to a boil faster on my propane burner, is easier and safer to move that amount of boiling hot liquid rather than 5 gallons to the cooling area and takes less time to cool than 5 gallons of boiling liquid. But like I said I have only just started this hobby and only did two batches so far so take my opinion as just that. Cheers:mug:

Just realized this post was 3 years old lol, I'm sure you are now leaps and bounds ahead of me in knowledge of this and could give me some advice. I forgot I was browsing old post and working my way backwards through them to the newer ones. It will be a long time for me to get to the beginning. Hey maybe somebody will see this and can take from it.