carbing, "serving pressure", etc.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

motobrewer

I'm no atheist scientist, but...
Reaction score
i've been thinking about this "serving pressure" thing, and I may have gotten myself confused....

the driving force in diffusion is concentration levels; that is, molecules in areas of high concentration will move to areas of low concentration. So, if we had a beer that's carbed to 3 volumes, and put 5psi of CO2 gas in the headspace (at 40F, this is all assuming constant temps), why will the CO2 in the beer diffuse out? We've already filled the headspace with a sufficient volume of CO2 to get to our headspace pressure of 5psi. In fact, if any CO2 does effuse, the pressure in the headspace has to increase, right? Pv = nRT and all that. So this isn't happening, at least my gauge says so, and it's certainly not going back into the tank for various (pressure, check valve) reasons, so the only way i can think of for that to happen is for gas to escape the system entirely.