Falconer's Flight DIPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RCBIV

Reaction score
Hey guys. I bought 6oz of Falconer's Flight hops just for fun a couple weeks ago. I figured I'd take a shot at making a partial mash DIPA with just FF hops.

Here's the recipe. I'm going for more of an aroma/flavor DIPA vs. a bitter DIPA.

Let me know what you think about it, if I should make changes, etc. I'm still learning BeerSmith, so if something looks funky, please let me know.

Any recommendations are certainly welcome:

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 3.50 gal
Post Boil Volume: 3.13 gal
Batch Size (fermenter): 5.00 gal
Bottling Volume: 4.60 gal
Estimated OG: 1.085 SG
Estimated Color: 8.6 SRM
Estimated IBU: 70.3 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 72.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 94.1 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt Name Type # %/IBU
7 lbs Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 1 53.8 %
1 lbs Caramel/Crystal Malt - 20L (20.0 SRM) Grain 2 7.7 %
2.00 oz Falconer's Flight [10.50 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 3 36.3 IBUs
5 lbs Light Dry Extract [Boil for 20 min](8.0 Dry Extract 4 38.5 %
0.50 oz Falconer's Flight [10.50 %] - Boil 20.0 min Hop 5 5.5 IBUs
1.00 tsp Irish Moss (Boil 10.0 mins) Fining 6 -
0.50 oz Falconer's Flight [10.50 %] - Boil 10.0 min Hop 7 3.3 IBUs
0.50 oz Falconer's Flight [10.50 %] - Boil 5.0 min Hop 8 1.8 IBUs
0.50 oz Falconer's Flight [10.50 %] - Boil 0.0 min Hop 9 0.0 IBUs
2.0 pkg Safale American (DCL/Fermentis #US-05) Yeast 10 -
2.00 oz Falconer's Flight [10.50 %] - Dry Hop 0.0 Days Hop 11 0.0 IBUs