Measuring OG?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

detz

Reaction score
I just got done my first batch yesterday and my major issue was figuring out the initial OG. After taking the advice of other members I decided to ferment in my glass carboy but that brought up two new issues. How do I measure to exactly 5 gallons and how do I check the OG? I got around it by first pouring it in the bucket so I could measure and take the OG and then siphoned it into the carboy. It was a pain, is this the only way to do this? Also measuring was hard, there was foam and my little device was hard to read so I'm not really use what my initial OG was. Advice?

Did you put your gravity sample in a container or measure directly from your carboy?
I always take my gravity readings from a sample container then I taste the wort, kill two birds with one stone that way!

You could try a marked "measuring" stick. You could use a long plastic/stainless steel spoon or something like that. Pour a measured amount of water in the carboy or kettle like one gallon, put the stick in and make a mark at the water line. Do this for each graduation you need and viola!!
Of course you need to sanitize the stick if you put it in post-boiled wort or beer!

Just my opions! Good luck!

Pick up a wine thief, or use a turkey baster to snatch some wort from your carboy. Put it into a test jar (or even just the plastic tube the hydrometer comes in) and wait as much time as you need to for the bubbles to go away. Set the test jar on a level surface, and give the hydrometer a little spin as you let go of it to keep it from sticking to the sides.

For measuring 5 gallons, you can just mark the outside of your carboy or ale pail with a marker, no?