Opening a Nano Brewery

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DoubleFisted

Reaction score
So, like many others my plan is to start small and gradually move up. I am young and can wait quite a few years before I actually start making "decent" money. When I first had plans I thought to start a brewpub, however most brewpubs do not account for the actual money they need and go under in a year. I want to start small without having a ton of debt right away. I am also a commercial pilot that I occasionaly pilot at a smaller airport near my hometime.

My biggest questions are the startup costs? I understand that nano breweries do not make a great deal of money. However, building a salary and understanding the business for a few years is what I want to get out of it. Then move up to a bigger system. I want to start with about a 1-2 BBL pilot system. My goal is to try and contact as many breweries as I can for help or donations of even small items they may not be using anymore. Yes I know this is not plausible, but you never know right? I have also often wondered to have a store that sells homebrew items to the public. The closest "decent" place that sells homebrew to the public is over 100 miles away.