Carbonation and Head Retention

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewjack

Reaction score
This seems like a topic that must have already been covered in great detail. However, I can't find it.
I'm still fairly new to brewing I've done about 9 batches and I'm still doing partial mashes. I've begun to pay closer and closer attention to the carbonation and head I get on each beer. Almost all my beers have carbonated fine (except for one messy exception) but the head seems to be made of too large of bubbles that pop very quickly and after only a couple of minutes my beer has no head at all.
One thought is that it has to do with how I'm carbonating. I generally add corn sugar into the secondary, allow it to sit for about 45min or so, to allow it to mix in evenly, then I bottle.
I'm wondering if maybe carbonation with malt would help. Or if it's something completely different. What are the factors that control the density of a beers head?

thanks in advance for any help

I generally run them through the dishwasher and then sanitize them by baking them in the oven at 200 or so. I let them cool and bottle.

Running your bottles through the dishwasher is enough to sanitize them on its own. In addition to clean bottles, pouring into a clean pint glass that is free of dirt, scale, grease, and detergent/soap is key. As far as recipe formulation goes, a lot of partial mashers and all grainers use a little bit (like 1/2lb per 5 gallon batch) of wheat malt, flaked barley, or dextrin malt to help with head retention.

Yeah, a lot of factors play into head retention. The amount and types of malts used, the fermentability of the wort, the type of priming sugar used or your method of force carbing. The cleanliness of the glass you pour in. I am sure there are otheres too.