Yeast Autolysis Krausen flavor/smell?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cushdan

Reaction score
Edit: I overanalyzed, high temps caused off flavors

Let me start by saying I'm pretty new to brewing, I've done 4 batches of beer and 2 apfelwein. I have run into an issue with my last couple batches of beer. I was making BierMuncher's Centennial Blonde and I left it in the Primary Fermenter for about 2 weeks, maybe 2.5. When I opened it to bottle, I went to smell it and it was a horrible ripe smell, like somebody stabbed me in the nose. I also noticed some little chunks of something floating which I can only guess to be dried Krausen. After reading many a post on here I decided to RDWHAHB and bottle it anyway. It's been a few weeks since then and the smell/flavor is still off, I can't tell if its moldy or something else but I do not think its drinkable.

I then did another batch of the same recipe and last night bottled it. When I opened it after 1.5 weeks in the Primary it had a similar smell, but far less than the first one. Once I racked to the bottling bucket the smell was not noticeable, unlike the first, so I think I might be alright this time. The same dried krausen was apparent in the second as well.